Norwood

4 posters

Go down

Norwood Empty Norwood

Post by Lee Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:34 am

For some time, I've thought that Norwood was the measuring stick of the SANFL competition.  Nathan Bassett's appointment as coach, IMO, changed the landscape of the comp.  It took his players a while to learn his system and style, but when they did, they played a game which other coaches have struggled to overcome.

There are different interpretations of the nuts and bolts of their system, but it basically relies on positioning around the ground, freeing up a backman (and a ruckman?), an effective forward press and pressure on the ball carrier.

I'm no expert on that, so it's just my best guess which others can explain more expertly, but it works.  It works extremely well and will likely be good enough to win the premiership again this year.

This year, Norwood lost a host of top class players and appointed a new coach.  They struggled a bit early, which, IMO, was due to the newer league players becoming accustomed to playing senior football and 'gelling', as well as, perhaps, adjusting to Ben Warren's coaching.  Since they've made that adjustment, their form has been outstanding, with only a minor blip or two.

I watched them on Saturday.  As much as West looked and played like a side whose season had finished the week before, Norwood ran harder than any side I'd watched this year, had more marking talls and their skills were better, although they weren't under much pressure.

They will find it harder at Adelaide Oval than Norwood Oval, but I can't see other sides beating their system, which I've thought for some time is the key issue in our competition.

Credit to them, it's now up to four other coaches to find an answer.
Lee
Lee

My club : west

Back to top Go down

Norwood Empty Re: Norwood

Post by Scrunch Mon Aug 11, 2014 12:58 pm